Oshoala in, Alozie out: NFF reveals Super Falcons squad for crucial AFCON qualifiers

Oshoala in, Alozie out: NFF reveals Super Falcons squad for crucial AFCON qualifiers

  • In preparation for the final round of the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has extended invitations to 21 players to form the formidable Super Falcons squad.
  • The team is set to tackle back-to-back games against Cape Verde in the 13th Women's Africa Cup of Nations.

The team roster released on Monday, November 21, comprises three goalkeepers, six defenders, seven midfielders, and five attackers.

Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala will lead the attack alongside CA Tenerife trio of Omorinsola Babajide, Esther Okoronkwo, and Gift Monday.
Houston Dash full-back, Michelle Alozie misses out, but there is room for Atletico Madrid midfielder, Rasheedat Ajibade, Sevilla FC's Toni Payne, and SC Benfica's midfield dynamo, Christy Ucheibe.

FC Robo Queens's Esther Onyenezide is one of four home-based players in the squad list, with the others being Edo Queens goalkeeper, Christiana Obia, Remo Stars defender, Akudo Ogbonna, and Bayelsa Queens star, Rihanat Kasali.

Coach Justin Madugu is expected to lead the Super Falcons as head coach Randy Waldrum remains on the sidelines due to contract renegotiation issues.

The first leg of the clash between Nigeria and Cape Verde is scheduled for Thursday, 30th November, at the MKO Abiola National Stadium in Abuja, followed by a return leg in Praia on Tuesday, 5th December.

The Super Falcons reached this stage of the qualifying series after securing a commanding 5-1 aggregate win over Ethiopia in the previous round. The first leg in Addis Ababa ended in a 1-1 draw, but the Falcons dominated the 'Lucy' with a resounding 4-0 victory in Abuja.

All invited players are instructed to report to the team's camp in Abuja between the 25th and 27th of November.

The Super Falcons have never missed an appearance in the Women's Africa Cup of Nations since its inception in 1998. They have clinched nine out of the 12 titles contested so far.

The 21-player Super Falcons squad

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC)
Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia)
Christiana Obia (Edo Queens)

Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico)
Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo)
Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens)
Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France)
Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies)
Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal)
Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens)
Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal)
Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain)
Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)
Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA)

Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain)
Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain)
Esther Okoronkwo (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain)
Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA)
Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain)

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3