Paris 2024: Waldrum names 18 in Super Falcons squad for Olympics

Paris 2024: Waldrum names 18 in Super Falcons squad for Olympics

Imhonlamhen Eronmhonsele
  • Nigeria’s Super Falcons head coach, Randy Waldrum, has announced his squad for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament in France.

The team will be captained by Rasheedat Ajibade, with Chiamaka Nnadozie as goalkeeper, Osinachi Ohale in defence, and forward Asisat Oshoala leading the attack.

The squad includes defenders Oluwatosin Demehin and Michelle Alozie, midfielders Deborah Abiodun, Halimatu Ayinde, Christy Ucheibe, and Toni Payne, and forwards Esther Okoronkwo, Chinwendu Ihezuo, and Uchenna Kanu.

In total, the squad consists of two goalkeepers, five defenders, five midfielders, and six forwards. Four players are on standby as backups in case of injuries or other emergencies.

Players currently on holiday in Nigeria will join the home-based squad and officials on an Air France flight from Abuja to Sevilla, Spain, on Thursday night. The rest of the team will arrive in Sevilla on Friday for a two-week training camp.

The team will leave Sevilla for France on the 18th of July.

Nigeria, nine-time African champions, are returning to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament for the first time since 2008. They will face Brazil, Spain, and Japan in the group stage.

The Super Falcons qualified by defeating South Africa’s Banyana Banyana 1-0 in Abuja, thanks to a penalty from Ajibade.

Their first match is against Brazil on 25th July at Stade Bordeaux, followed by games against Spain on 28th July and Japan on 31st July at Stade de la Beaujoire in Nantes. This is the same venue where Nigeria’s Super Eagles famously beat Spain 3-2 during the 1998 FIFA World Cup.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan)

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)

Forwards: Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Chinonyerem Macleans (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Alternate Players: Jumoke Alani (Nasarawa Amazons); Ifeoma Onumonu (Utah Royals, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Morufa Ademola (Rivers Angels)

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3