Super Eagles coach names Osimhen, Moffi, Boniface, Dele-Bashiru for Saudi Arabia, Mozambique friendlies

Super Eagles coach names Osimhen, Moffi, Boniface, Dele-Bashiru for Saudi Arabia, Mozambique friendlies

  • Super Eagles head coach, Jose Peseiro has invited 25 players for Nigeria's international engagement in October.
  • The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, released the squad list to the public on Tuesday.

Nigeria are scheduled to play Saudi Arabia in an international friendly on October 13 at the Estádio Municipal de Portimão in Portimão, Portugal.

Three days later, the two-time Africa Cup of Nations winners will trade tackles with Mozambique.

For the two friendlies, coach Peseiro has called up three goalkeepers, eight defenders, six midfielders, and eight attackers.

Enyimba FC's goalie is the only home-based in the squad, and he will likely serve as backup for Francis Uzoho and Adebayo Adeleye.

There is still no room for captain Ahmed Musa and vice-captain William Troost-Ekong, as Peseiro has stuck with the majority of the players that powered Nigeria to a 6-0 win over Sao Tome and Principe in an AFCON qualifier last month.

However, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Alex Iwobi, Yerem Moffi, and Raphael Onyedika, who missed that clash, have been handed a recall.

There is also a first senior call-up for Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, who has been exceptional since leaving England to join Hatayaspor FC in Turkey.

Super Eagles regulars Victor Osimhen, Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Ineanacho, and Kenneth Omeruo are all on the roster.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England); Fisayo Dele-Bashiru (Hatayaspor FC, Turkey)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany). 

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3