Squad announcement: NFF name 26 for U17 AFCON 2023

Squad announcement: NFF name 26 for U17 AFCON 2023

  • The Nigeria Football Federation has released a roster of 26 players for the Golden Eaglets ahead of the 2023 CAF U17 Africa Cup of Nations in Algeria

The team, headed by coach Nduka Ugbade will touch down in the Algerian city of Constantine on Sunday night to commence their final preparations for the tournament.

At the AFCON, the Golden Eaglets will compete in Group B, where they will face Morocco, Zambia, and South Africa.

The team's first match is on Sunday, April 30, against Zambia at the 22,000-capacity Stade Mohamed Hamlaoui, followed by matches against Morocco and South Africa in the group stages.

The top four teams in Algeria will qualify to represent Africa at the FIFA U17 World Cup finals scheduled for later this year.

The Golden Eaglets are one of the most successful teams in international football for their age group, boasting an impressive record with five FIFA U-17 World Cup titles and three runners-up titles.

The team has also clinched the Africa U-17 Cup of Nations twice, making them the undisputed champions in their category.

Nigeria Squad for U17 AFCON 2023

Richard Odoh (HB Football Academy)
Yahaya Danjuma Lawali (Mahanaim FC)
Emmanuel Michael (Simon Ben Football Academy)
Haruna Abdullahi (Kurfi Tigers Academy)
Tochukwu Joseph Ogboji (Purple Crown Academy)
Jeremiah Oluwaseyi Olaleke (Ablaze Football Academy)
Umar Abubakar (Devine Football Academy)
Abubakar Idris Abdullahi (Jega United)
Precious Tonye Williams (HB Football Academy)
Ifeoluwa Adewale Olowoporoku (Triple 44 Academy)
Charles Adah Agada (Mavlon FC)
Hope Yusuf Linus (E.E. Sporting Club)
Jubril Opeyemi Azeez (Right Vision Choice Academy)
Anongu Isaac Aondoakaa (FC Bathel Sporting)
Israel Nwachukwu Usulor (Real Sapphire FC)
Temiloluwa Oluwayimika Adelakin (Box2Box Academy)
Simon Karshe Cletus (Mavlon FC)
Tochukwu Simeon Ogbadibo (Jossy United)
Light Chijioke Eke (C&C Football Academy)
Favour Oluwasegun Daniel (G12 Football Academy)
Chijioke Julius Linus (Triple 44 Academy)
Quadri Oluwatobiloba Adewale (Nathaniel Boys FC)
Gift Ukeh Adie (Paul E Football Academy)
Musa Oluwaseyi Akinfenwa (Real Sapphire FC)
Usman Ajibola Owoyemi (Triple 44 Academy)
Matthew Awodi Kingsley (Brook House Academy)

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3