Olympic Eagles Call Up 30 for AFCON Qualifiers Against Guinea

Olympic Eagles Call Up 30 for AFCON Qualifiers Against Guinea

  • Nigeria's Olympic Eagles are gearing up for their upcoming African Cup of Nations qualifying fixture against Guinea.
  • The head coach of the team, Salisu Yusuf, has called up 30 players to camp ahead of the crucial match.

The Nigerian team, also known as the Dream Squad VII, secured their place in the final round of qualifiers with a [3-1] aggregate victory over Tanzania in the previous round. 

The squad comprises of four goalkeepers, eight defenders, ten midfielders, and eight forwards. They are set to play against Guinea in a two-legged tie. The opening leg will take place at Adamasingba Stadium in Nigeria on March 22, before the team travels to Guinea for the reverse fixture.

The winner of the Nigeria versus Guinea matchup will secure a spot at the 2023 Africa U23 Cup of Nations competition, which is a qualification process for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. 

All invited Nigerian players are expected to report at the Chida Hotel in Abuja on Friday, March 3, 2023, to kick off preparation for the match.

The Nigerian Olympic Eagles have a successful track record at the Olympic Games, winning a gold medal in 1996, silver in 2008, and bronze in 2016.

The 30-man squad list:

Goalkeepers: John Amah (Sunshine Stars); Nurudeen Badmus (Dakkada FC); Ifeanyi Nchekwube (Akwa United); Oriya Joseph (Lobi Stars)

Defenders: Christopher Nwaeze (Plateau United); Desmond Ojietefian (Shooting Stars); Okechukwu Chikason (Enyimba FC); Anthony Anieke (Akwa United); Samuel Olamilekan (Niger Tornadoes); Benjamin Tanimu (Bendel Insurance); Evans Ogbonda (Port Harcourt City); Umar Ahmed Farouk (Gombe United)M

Midfielders: Daniel Wotlai (Abia Warriors); Akanni Qudus (Remo Stars); Auwalu Naziru (Rangers Int’l); Chibuike Nwaiwu (Enyimba FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Taofeek Malomo (Shooting Stars); Samuel Chisom (Kwara United); Samaila Sarki (Bendel Insurance); Kumaga Suur (Lobi Stars); Inye Green (Ibani United)

Forwards: Munir Idris (Niger Tornadoes); Ahmed Jimoh (Kwara United); Ezekiel Edidiong (Remo Stars); Ifeanyi Ogba (Akwa United); Umar Ibrahim (El-Kanemi Warriors); Alkasin Deji Yusuf (Dakkada FC); Mojereola Suleiman (Sunshine Stars); Akile Monday (Lobi Stars)


Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3