WAFU B U17 Championship: Nigeria's Golden Eaglets land in Ghana for title defence

WAFU B U17 Championship: Nigeria's Golden Eaglets land in Ghana for title defence

  • Defending champions Nigeria touched down in the Ghanaian capital, Accra, on Saturday to defend their title at the WAFU B U17 Championship.
  • The regional competition kicks off on Wednesday, May 15th, with the Golden Eaglets aiming to retain the title they won two years ago.

The Golden Eaglets, with five world titles in their kitty, defeated all comers to secure the WAFU B Cup in the Ghanaian city of Kumasi in 2022.

However, their journey faltered at the Africa U17 Cup of Nations in Algeria, rendering them ineligible for the world title competition in Indonesia.

Now, with the return of 2013 FIFA World Cup-winning coach Manu Garba, the team is ready to tackle Burkina Faso, Niger Republic, and Togo in Group B of the upcoming WAFU B tournament. Their primary goal: securing qualification for next year's Africa U17 Cup of Nations.

Under Garba's leadership, the technical crew aims not only to defend the regional crown but also to enhance the squad's capabilities for a successful showing at the U17 AFCON and, potentially, a sixth world title.

The Eaglets kick off their title defence against Burkina Faso at the University Stadium on Thursday, May 16th, with the match scheduled for 3 pm Ghana time (4 pm Nigeria time).

Subsequent matches include clashes against Niger Republic on Sunday, May 19th (6 pm Ghana, 7 pm Nigeria), and Togo on Wednesday, May 22nd (4 pm Ghana, 5 pm Nigeria).

The match against Niger Republic will also take place at the University Stadium, while the encounter with Togo will be held at the Accra Sports Stadium.

19 EAGLETS FOR WAFU B U17 CHAMPIONSHIP

Adekunle Sunday Adedigba, Sylvester Chizoba Chika, Daniel Ofonime Mendie, Destiny Samuel, Abdulwaris Yunus, Boluwatife David Ekishola, Ibrahim Damilare Abdulganiyu, Edward Oloche Ochigbo, Rapha Adams, Simon Karshe Cletus, Oreoluwa Olawale Agbenla, Okorie Marvelous Chibuike, Abdulmuiz Adeleke, John Ogwuche, Qurib Adetola, Chinedu Levi Dominic, Abdulmuiz Oluwatimilehin Oladimeji, Daniel Vowero Arierhi, Imrana Muhammad

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3