Official: Super Eagles pick squad numbers for AFCON 2023

Official: Super Eagles pick squad numbers for AFCON 2023

  • The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has revealed the Super Eagles' squad numbers for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations.
  • All 25 invited players have been given a number between 1 and 25.

Napoli striker, Victor Osimhen gets the prestigious number 9 to confirm his status as the team's main centre-forward.

Despite concerns about his status as the Super Eagles' first-choice goalkeeper, Omonia Nicosia star, Francis Uzoho has been handed the number 1 jersey.

Samuel Chukwueze, Moses Simon, Joe Aribo, Alex Iwobi, and William Troost-Ekong retain their regular team numbers of 11, 15, 10, 17, and 5.

Newly invited stars Olorunleke Ojo, Stanley Nwabili, and Alhassan Yusuf will make do with jersey numbers 16, 23, and 4, respectively.

Victor Boniface wears shirt number 22 at Bayer Leverkusen, but the striker has decided to go with 24 for the AFCON.

Kelechi Iheanacho is the only player yet to join the team at their training camp in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, as he recovers from a slight knock.

The Leicester City forward's participation at the AFCON appears to be confirmed, as he has been allotted number 14.

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations kicks off on January 13, 2024, with Nigeria playing their first group match against Equatorial Guinea the following day.

Squad Numbers

1. Francis Uzoho
2. Ola Aina
3. Zaidu Sanusi
4. Alhassan Yusuf
5. William Troost-Ekong
6. Semi Ajayi
7. Ahmed Musa
8. Frank Onyeka
9. Victor Osimhen
10. Joe Aribo
11. Samuel Chukwueze
12. Bright Osayi-Samuel
13. Bruno Onyemaechi
14. Kelechi Iheanacho
15. Moses Simon
16. Ojo Olorunleke
17. Alex Iwobi
18. Ademola Lookman
19. Umar Sadiq 
20. Chidozie Awaziem
21. Calvin Bassey
22. Kenneth Omeruo
23. Stanley Nwabili
24. Victor Boniface
25. Raphael Onyedika

Pada si bulọọgi

Leave a comment

1 ti 3