Super Falcons reveal squad for Paris 2024 Olympic qualifiers against Ethiopia

Super Falcons reveal squad for Paris 2024 Olympic qualifiers against Ethiopia

  • In preparation for the highly anticipated Paris 2024 Women's Olympic Football Tournament qualification matches against Ethiopia, the Super Falcons have unveiled a robust squad comprising 22 players.
  • The squad breakdown comprises three goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders, and six attackers.

Seasoned veterans like defender Osinachi Ohale, Halimatu Ayinde, and forward Asisat Oshoala feature prominently in the squad. In contrast, exciting youngsters like goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, defender Tosin Demehin, and midfielder, Christy Ucheibe also earned call-ups.

Interestingly, rising talents Opeyemi Ajakaiye and Comfort Folorunsho, who previously showcased their skills during the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, have earned their maiden call-up to the Super Falcons squad.

There is also a first-time call up for English-born striker, Omorinsola Babajide.

Ethiopia, having progressed to this stage after eliminating Chad in the first round, will host the opening leg of this crucial second-round encounter in Addis Ababa on Wednesday, October 25th. The second leg is scheduled to take place in Nigeria on Tuesday, October 31st.

The Women's Olympic Football Tournament, slated for next year in Paris, France, holds immense significance for the Super Falcons, who previously participated in the Olympics in 2000, 2004, and 2008.

The invited players:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monle Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens, Nigeria); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens, Nigeria); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Halimatu Ayinde (Rosengard FC, Sweden); Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (AS Saint Etienne, France)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (UD Tenerife, Spain); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (UD Tenerife, Spain); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens, Nigeria).

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3