Olympics qualifier: Plumptre, Ajibade, 19 others named in Super Falcons squad to face Cameroon

Olympics qualifier: Plumptre, Ajibade, 19 others named in Super Falcons squad to face Cameroon

  • Ashleigh Plumptre is set to make a comeback to the Nigerian women's football team after a hiatus following their exit from the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup.

The Al-Ittihad defender, who played a pivotal role in all of Nigeria's matches during the World Cup hosted by Australia and New Zealand, is back in international action for the first time.

Plumptre, 25, was conspicuously absent from Nigeria's Olympic qualifying games, citing her need to take a break from the national team to focus on acclimating to the culture in Saudi Arabia.

Now, alongside twenty other players, the former Leicester defender has been summoned for Nigeria's Women's Olympic qualifying clash against the Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon.

The high-stakes fixture is the third round of the African qualifying series, and the penultimate hurdle before the continent's representatives for the 2024 Olympics are determined.

The first leg is scheduled to take place at the Stade de la Reunification in Douala, Cameroon, next Friday, with the return leg set for the MKO Abiola National Stadium in Abuja, Nigeria, the following week.

Nigeria failed to qualify for the 2012, 2016, and 2021 Olympics, with the Super Falcons last qualifying for the global festival at China 2008, where they lost all three group games.

Super Falcons full squad list:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia), Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens).

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca Club de Futbol, Mexico), Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia), Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France), Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, U.S.A.), Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies), Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France).

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, U.S.A.), Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden), Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal), Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain), Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain).

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Esther Okoronkwo (Henan FC, China), Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, U.S.A.), Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, U.S.A.), Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, U.S.A.), Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain).

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3