Colombia 2024: NFF invites 25 players for FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifier

Colombia 2024: NFF invites 25 players for FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifier

  • Nigeria women's national team head coach Christopher Musa Danjuma has called 25 youngsters in preparation for the Falconets' FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifier against Burundi next month.
  • Four goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders, and eight attackers make up the squad invited by coach Danjuma.

All the players are based in clubs and academies in the country except Aminat Bello, who is currently unattached.

Among the players called up are goalkeepers Anderlin Mgbechi and Shukurat Bakare, defenders Oluchi Ohaegbulam and Comfort Folorunsho, midfielders Taiwo Afolabi and Adoo Yina, and forwards Chiamaka Okwuchukwu, Chisom Chima, and Aminat Omowunmi Bello.

Noteworthy additions also include FIFA U17 World Cup bronze-medalist goalkeeper Faith Omilana, defenders Jumoke Alani, Emamuzo Edafe, and Shukurat Oladipo, along with midfielders Chinyere Kalu and Chioma Olise, and forwards Opeyemi Ajakaye, Oluwayemisi Samuel, and Janet Akekoromowei.

The 25 selected players are set to assemble at the Federal Capital, Abuja, on Wednesday, 27th December, marking the commencement of their preparatory camp.

The Falconets, having advanced to the third round following the withdrawal of Mauritius, secured their place in the qualifier by defeating Tanzania 3-2 on aggregate in the second round last month.

Nigeria will be favourites to outclass Burundi, who impressively eliminated the U20 girls from South Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo from the race.

Burundi will host the first leg of the fixture in Bujumbura between the 12th and 14th of January, while the return leg is scheduled at the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, on Saturday, 20th January.

The winner of the faceoff between Nigeria and Burundi will progress to the last round of the qualification series.

Full list of all 25 invited players:

Goalkeepers: Kehinde Afuye (FC Robo Queens); Faith Omilana (Naija Ratels); Anderlin Mgbechi (Delta Queens); Shukurat Bakare (Nasarawa Amazons)

Defenders: Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Oluwabunmi Semilore (Naija Ratels); Oluchi Ohaegbulam (Nasarawa Amazons); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Comfort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Emamuzo Edafe (Rivers Angels); Rebecca Adegbemile (Delta Queens)

Midfielders: Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens); Chinyere Kalu (Nasarawa Amazons); Aminat Folorunsho (Rivers Angels); Shukurat Shobowale (Nasarawa Amazons); Chioma Olise (Edo Queens); Adoo Yina (Nasarawa Amazons)

Forwards: Chiamaka Okwuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Aminat Bello (Unattached); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens); Chiamaka Osuigwe (Edo Queens); Chisom Chima (Bayelsa Queens); Mary Nkpa (Heartland Queens); Janet Akekoromowei (Asisat Academy); Oluwayemisi Samuel (Bayelsa Queens).

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3