Super Eagles squad to face Ghana

Musa, Amoo, Lookman, Bassey and 21 others make Super Eagles' squad for Ghana clash

Toyosi Afolayan
Musa, Amoo, Lookman, Bassey and 28 make Super Eagles' roster for Ghana clash

Super Eagles interim coach, Augustine Eguavoen has named Captain Ahmed Musa, vice captain William Troost-Ekong and 30 others in a Super Eagles’ provisional list for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 play-off round against the Black Stars of Ghana.

Maduka Okoye and Daniel Akpeyi, as well as defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, and Abdullahi Shehu, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, and forwards Victor Osimhen, Odion Ighalo, and Samuel Chukwueze, have been called up

Ademola Lookman of Leicester City FC in England, who was recently cleared by FIFA to switch international allegiance, and former U17 World Cup star Akinkunmi Amoo are both called up for the first time, while defender Calvin Bassey and forward Emmanuel Dennis make a return.

A seven-man standby list includes 2021 AFCON forwards Taiwo Awoniyi and Peter Olayinka, defender Chidozie Awaziem, and long-term absentee Ogenyi Onazi.

The camp begins on March 21st in Abuja.

Ghana and Nigeria will clash at the Cape Coast Sports Stadium on Friday, March 25th at 7.30pm for the first leg.

The reverse leg is scheduled for Tuesday, March 29th at 6pm at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.

The winner of both legs will be one of Africa's five representatives at the 2022 FIFA World Cup finals, which will be held in Qatar from November 14th to December 18th this year.

Super Eagles squad to face Ghana
Super Eagles squad to face Ghana


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Akinkunmi Amoo (FC Copenhagen, Denmark)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Hilal FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England)

Standby: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Ogenyi Onazi (Al-Adalah FC, Saudi Arabia)

More Super Eagles


*Copyright © 2022 EaglesTracker – All Rights Reserved. This article may not be reproduced, re-published, re-written or redistributed in whole or in part without the prior express written consent of EaglesTracker

Back to blog

Leave a comment

1 of 3